With this functional extension, you can now decide whether activities or tasks that you create in the course of your work with sales projects should only be linked to the project or to the open customer.
What is the open customer?
As you probably know, the detailed view of a project consists of two parts:
- In the upper part of the project detail view you can see the most important information of the customer assigned to the project.
- In the lower part of the view you can see the most important information of the project:
So far , activities and tasks that have been added to the timeline of this project via this view have always been linked to both the project and the customer who was visible in the upper part (keyword: open customer).
Now it is possible to decide whether the activities and tasks should be linked to both "entities" as before, or only with the project.
What are the advantages of linking them to just the project:
In some business cases, it may be that the customer assigned to the project has not yet been determined at the time the project was created, or has to be changed in the course of project. In order to maintain the correct history, it is necessary in these cases to link the activities (and tasks) only to the project, because even if the customer changes, the history remains with the project.
How do you proceed to correctly create activities and tasks, or which tools are available to the user to control the display in the timeline:
Creating and choosing the correct connection (simple customer relationship):
SELLSATION offers the possibility to link projects to more than just one company. If the project is linked to only one customer, the following explanations apply.
When creating a new activity (note , Meeting , Call and general activity ) the user will now find a switch in order to make this decision:
Important: please note that the customer used for the link is the one that we have designated as the active customer above. So the one in the detail view in the upper area can be seen.
The setting of this switch is saved according to the last decision the user made.
When creating a task , this switch also exists, whereby the functionality is exactly the same:
Creating and choosing the correct connection (multiple customer relationship):
If the project in question is linked to several customers, the respective customer must also be selected when linking the activity or task. In this case, a field is offered to select the customers connected to the project. The user must now decide with which of the customers this activity or task should be linked:
When creating tasks, the picture is similar:
Control the display in the timeline
The activity filter is used to filter or control the display of the timeline entries in the detailed view of a project. By clicking on the activity filter button, the user can now filter the entries.
This functionality already existed. What is new is the choice you have between:
- "Show all project activities" and
- "Show all project activities belonging to the current customer"
The first selections shows you all activities on the timeline of this project, regardless of which customer they are linked to, whereas the second selection only includes those activities that are only linked to the project.
The second selection displays only activities in the timeline associated with the open client:
In the picture above you can see activities linked to customers in the background. This project has been assigned to two customers:
- Construction LTD and
- AAA Group
In this case, when listing the activities by selecting "Show all project activities belonging to the current customer", the associated customer is displayed in a blue box for the respective activity. If you choose the other option, or if this project has only activated a single customer relationship, this box is not shown.
Please note this filter setting in case you are missing entries in the timeline for your projects.